ACU Trial GB Championships

Event News!



Apart from a minor blip at round six, Tom Affleck (Sherco) has been ultra consistent throughout the year in the Trial Expert class and was rewarded by being confirmed as Champion at the Hafren event on Sunday afternoon, with one round still remaining. Apart from the Brimham Rocks event, Affleck has been on the podium at every round this year and has amassed one hundred and thirty six points, which has put him thirty four clear of his nearest challenger, Emma Bristow (Sherco).
However, the class was dominated at the two rounds held this weekend by Dan Thorpe (GasGas). Having only joined the series at round six following his well documented back surgery, Thorpe devastated the opposition by almost halving the score of his nearest rivals on both days.
The two events were in complete contrast, with Saturday being held at a new venue at Dinas Park on the lower slopes of Snowdonia, where twelve sections were quite hard and technical, but Sunday's event at Hafren was more traditional and slightly easier.
Affleck was second on Saturday, just edging out his main title challenger Emma Bristow (Sherco) by two marks, whilst local rider Gwynedd Jones excelled in the tough conditions for fourth. Lloyd Price (Gas Gas) returned an excellent second lap score of just eight for fifth ahead of Sam Beecroft-Penny in sixth.
Sunday's event was on the previously used Glyn Hafren venue where Clerk of the Course Adrian Jervis tweaked the success of the 2018 event. On form Thorpe, loss just six marks which included a faultless second lap of the race. whilst Tyler Rendall (Vertigo) produced his best performance of the season to finish a well deserved second, edging Champion elect Affleck to third on the day. George Gosden (Beta) failed in the opening stream section but recovered well for fourth ahead of Bradley Bullock (Beta) who improved on his first day eighth, for fifth position. Again, Gwynedd Jones (Beta) put in a strong performance to complete the top six.
The final round takes place on the 24th October at Matlock in Derbyshire where all champions will be crowned.