ACU Trial GB Championships

Event News!

ACU Trial GB Championships - Dabill, Connor, Harbud and Stay take honours

Dabill, Connor, Harbud and Stay take honours

In front of a large and enthusiastic crowd of spectators James Dabill (Beta), Sam Connor (Beta), Brett Harbud (Beta) and Chris Stay (TRRS) won their respective classes at the opening round of the new look series which took place in perfect conditions at Hookwood in Surrey yesterday.
With the exception of the ACU Trial GB and ACU Trial 125 classes, the lead changed hands several times throughout the three lap, twelve section compact course which consisted of rocks, mud and climbs in a confined area which had spectators following the action at every section.
On the opening lap, Dabill led Jack Price (Gas Gas) by a single mark 16-17, with his new Beta team mate Toby Martyn just one mark in arrears on 19. The Beta factory rider increased his lead to a comfortable eight marks over the remaining two laps and on the final tour Martyn challenged for second place which he eventually grabbed when Price suffered three maximums in his third lap with 22.
It was current ACU Trial 2 Champion, Ross Danby (TRRS) who led this category at the end of the opening lap from Sam Connor (Beta) and Sam Haslam (Gas Gas). Danby increased his lead on the second lap which consisted of eight of the Trial GB sections and Connor dropped down to third. However, despite falling further behind at section two on his final lap, Connor shed just two more marks to win the class.
In the ACU Trial 125 class, Brett Harbud stamped his authority early on with an opening lap of ten marks which was half of his closest rivals. He increased his advantage on the second tour with a single figure lap before suffering four maximums on lap three to allowed Ben Dignan (Gas Gas) and Adam Harris (Gas Gas) to close the gap.
The ACU Trial Expert sections were specifically set out easier and at the sharp end it was low scoring with Stay taking his first win by a single mark from 2018 winner Ben Morphett (Montesa) by a single mark, whilst the leader after the opening lap, Dan Thorpe (Gas Gas) slipped to third.